16 Types of Grief People Experience

As I opened my social media this afternoon, several posts were highlighted, and I began to pray for those dealing with the various types of grief from the loss of loved ones to those grieving the recent local and national tragedies.

At one time or another we have all have dealt with some form of grief over the course of the last 21 months. When it’s experienced, grief can sometimes feel like a weighty crushing process, especially when it hits us personally and without any warning. However, even in the midst of the pain, shock and loss, the Word of God reveals we can yet find hope.

So, what is hope and what does it look like when you are in a place of grieving? Hope is defined as “a feeling of trust.” For the times we find ourselves in a place of grieving, it’s important to note who or what we place our trust in. While our family, friends and loved ones are there to comfort us in time of need, it’s good to know there is someone greater we can cry out to and place our hope. The Sovereign God is a present help. He is Jehovah Shammah, our God who is always there.

Psalm 16:9 – “Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices; my flesh also will rest in hope.”

Psalm 31:24 – “Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the Lord.”

Psalm 62:5 – “Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from Him.”

Psalm 71:5 – “For you are my hope, O Lord God; You are my trust from my youth.”

Psalm 119:147 – “I rise before the dawning of the morning, and cry for help; I hope in your word.”

Romans 5:5 – “Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured in our hearts by the Holy spirit who was given to us.”

Romans 15:13 – “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

To help us better recognize the various types of grief, listed below are 16 types a person may possibly encounter and experience.

1. Normal Grief – The emotional distress that accompanies a trauma, such as death or other loss.

2. Complicated Grief – The type of grief that worsens over time.

3. Traumatic Grief – The grief that you feel after the sudden or unexpected loss of a loved one.

4. Chronic Grief – A grief that does not subside.

5. Anticipatory Grief – The grief you feel when you are waiting for your loved one to pass.

6. Disenfranchised Grief – Deep grief over the loss of a relationship that is outside the typical family structure or other recognized relationships.

7. Distorted Grief – May give you feelings of guilt and anger.

8. Exaggerated Grief – Start out as normal grief but grow with intensity as time passes.

9. Masked Grief – When experienced, you may not even be aware that symptoms such as anger or impulsive behavior are related to a loss.

10. Inhibited Grief – Can manifest in the form of chronic headaches, stomach pains, or even muscle and body aches.

11. Collective Grief – When grief affects a whole community, city, country, or even the world.

12. Cumulative Grief – When a current loss may dredge up feelings of a loss you have suffered in the past.

13. Prolonged Grief – When normal grief last for 12 months or longer.

14. Abbreviated Grief – A short lived but bona fide grief

15. Delayed Grief – When your grief may be postponed for a matter of weeks, months and sometimes years.

16. Absent Grief – Where you may show few or no signs of grieving.

If you are currently experiencing a loss of any kind, I pray that the peace and comfort of God to begin to fill your heart with hope. May His love cover you as you move through the grieving process.

If at any time you feel overwhelmed in your grief and find it hard to cope, please seek assistance from a counselor or mental health professional in your area. You may also call the National Grief Hotline by dialing (844) 274 – 6154 for immediate response and assistance.

Listed, are several articles & resources to also help you to process and move through grief:

https://www.griefresourcenetwork.com/crisis-center/hotlines/ – Grief Resource Network

https://www.mhanational.org/bereavement-and-grief – Mental Health America

https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/basics/grief – Psychology Today

https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/understand-other-people/202111/how-manage-dramatically-different-holiday-season -Psychology Today

Arnita L. Fields
December 11, 2021

16 Ways People Grieve Information Credit – http://www.usurnsonline.com
Definition of Hope – http://www.languages.oup.com

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s